Champions League 2020-21 format

The tournament follows a group and knockout format. For the Champions League, qualifying begins in the summer with three rounds and then a play-off taking place before 32 teams begin the group stage starting in September. The group stage involves eight groups of four teams, with each club playing with everyone else in that group home and away. The top two sides in each group move on to the round of 16 and the start of the knockout phase, while the third-placed team drops into the UEFA Europa League. The round of 16, quarter-finals, and semi-finals are played over two legs, home and away, while the final is hosted by a stadium that is selected almost two years in advance.

Champions League 2020-21 Qualified Teams

Champions League winner

Bayern Munich (already qualified through league)

Europa League winner

Sevilla (already qualified through league)

Spain (La Liga)

Real Madrid (champions)


Atletico Madrid


England (Premier League)

Liverpool (champions)

Manchester City

Manchester United


Italy (Serie A)

Juventus (champions)

Inter Milan



Germany (Bundesliga)

Bayern Munich (champions)

Borussia Dortmund

RB Leipzig

Borussia Monchengladbach

France (Ligue 1)

PSG (declared champions in abandoned season)



Russia (Russian Premier League)

Zenit (champions)

Lokomotiv Moscow

Krasnodar (UCL play-off winner)

Portugal (Primeira Liga)

Porto (champions)

Belgium (Jupiler Pro League)

Club Brugge (finished first in abandoned season)

Ukraine (Ukrainian Premier League)

Shakhtar Donetsk (champions)

Dynamo Kiev (UCL play-off winner)

Turkey (Super Lig)

Istanbul Basaksehir (champions)


Ajax (finished first in league that was abandoned but not declared champions)


Red Bull Salzburg (UCL play-off winner)


Olympiacos (UCL play-off winner)


Midtyjlland (UCL play-off winner)


Ferencvaros (UCL play-off winner)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *